(Use this form to file a local law with the Secretary of State.)

Text of law should be given as amended. Do not include matter being eliminated and do not use italics or underlining to indicate new matter.

ADMAN	of	Niagara	·································	
XXIIAge	e Local Law No,	6	of the year 20	
	requiring impoundme		subsequent to an arre	est for
	(Insen Tale) driving while intox			
Be it enacte	d by the(Name of Legislative Bo	Legislature		of the
County ENYXX TXXXX	of	Niagara		- as follows:
XXXIX XXXIX			,	

A LOCAL LAW REQUIRING IMPOUNDMENT OF VEHICLES SUBSEQUENT TO AN ARREST FOR DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED/ABILITY IMPAIRED

SECTION 1. LEGISLATIVE INTENT.

The Niagara County Legislature hereby finds, declares and determines that:

- 1. Driving While Intoxicated and Driving While Ability Impaired are serious' criminal offenses which have tragic effects on Niagara County, New York, and the United States.
- 2. In order to help law enforcement curb these offenses, the Niagara County Legislature is initiating legislation calling for an absolute minimum twelve hour vehicle impoundment when someone is arrested for drunk driving.
- 3. There are numerous stories and instances of drunk drivers being released from jail on a bond, picking up their car and getting involved in a subsequent serious and/or fatal vehicle accident.
- 4. Data has shown that vehicle impoundment has been consistently effective in reducing DWI offenses among convicted drinking drivers.

(If additional space is needed, attach pages the same size as this sheet, and number each.)

- 5. First-time offenders who had their vehicles impounded had 25 percent fewer crashes than those who did not; repeat offenders who had their vehicles impounded had 38 percent fewer crashes than those who did not.
- 6. Even two years after the impoundment, drivers whose vehicles were impounded had at least 35 percent fewer DWI's when compared with those who had not.
- 7. Various municipalities in Niagara County already support vehicle impoundment in DWI cases; however the Niagara County Legislature finds that there is the need to make mandatory impoundment an across-the-board measure to curb drunk driving and save lives.
- 8. Only through mandatory impoundment can we help to ensure that DWI and DWAI drivers are prohibited from driving until they are completely sober.

SECTION 2. SHORT TITLE.

This Local Law shall be known as "The Niagara County DWI/DWAI Vehicle Impoundment Law."

SECTION 3. IMPOUNDMENT OF VEHICLES.

- 1. Whenever a person has been arrested for a violation of N.Y. Vehicle & Traffic Law sections 1192(1), 1192(2), 1192(3), 1192(4), 1192(5), 1192(6), 1192-a and/or sections 49-A and 49-B of the New York State Navigation Law, the arresting law enforcement agency or its duly authorized agent shall impound and take possession of the vehicle the person was operating at the time of their arrest.
- 2. A vehicle impounded pursuant to Section 3(A) shall remain in the possession of the arresting law enforcement agency or its duly authorized agent until and when the following conditions are met:
 - a. The vehicle may be released to the arrestee no earlier than twelve (12) hours after the time of arrest;
 - b. The vehicle may be released to a party other than the arrestee if:
 - (i) the vehicle is owned or leased by the individual claiming the vehicle other than the arrestee; or
 - (ii) the vehicle is owned or leased by the arrestee, the arrestee is eighteen or older, and the arrestee gives their written permission, pursuant to the requirements of the arresting law enforcement agency or its duly authorized agent, to another individual to claim the vehicle; or

- (iii) the vehicle is owned or leased by the arrestee, the arrestee is under eighteen and unemancipated, the vehicle may be released to the parent or legal guardian of the arrestee.
- 3. A vehicle impounded under this section shall not be released to any person unless the person claiming the vehicle from the arresting law enforcement agency or its duly authorized agent:
 - a. presents a valid license, proof of ownership or lawful authority to operate a motor vehicle;
 - b. would not be in violation of N.Y. Vehicle & Traffic Law sections 1192(1), 1192(2), 1192(3), 1192(4), 1192(5), 1192(6), 1192-a and/or sections 49-A and 49-B of the New York State Navigation Law in connection with operating the vehicle and is otherwise able to operate the vehicle in a safe manner; and
 - c. meets any other reasonable conditions established for release of the vehicle established by the arresting law enforcement agency or its duly authorized agent, including but not limited to, reasonable fees for towing and storage of the vehicle until the time the vehicle is claimed. The arresting law enforcement agency or its duly authorized agent may retain custody of the vehicle until such conditions are complied with or fees paid.
- 4. For the purposes of this law, "vehicle" shall include "vessel" as defined in section 49-A of the New York State Navigation Law. Nothing in this Local Law shall be construed to prevent or supercede a court of competent jurisdiction from exercising its authority in connection with the release of a vehicle impounded under this Local Law.

SECTION 4. EFFECT OF OTHER LAWS.

Notwithstanding any provision of this Local Law to the contrary, this Local Law is not intended to supercede or compromise any local, state or federal law, rule or regulation that would authorize the continued impoundment of a vehicle for evidentiary or other legal purposes.

<u>SECTION 5</u>. RULES & REGULATIONS.

The Niagara County Sheriff or the Chief Law Enforcement Officer of any other law enforcement agency in Niagara County or their duly authorized agents are hereby authorized to promulgate such rules and regulations that are lawful, necessary and appropriate to implement, enforce or otherwise carry out the purposes of this Local Law.

SECTION 6. SEVERABILITY.

If any clause, sentence, paragraph, subdivision, section or part of this Local Law or the application thereof, to any person, individual, corporation, firm, partnership, entity or

circumstance, shall be adjudged by any court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid or unconstitutional such order of judgement shall not affect, impair, or invalidate the remainder thereof, but shall be confined in its operation to the clause, sentence, paragraph, subdivision, section or part of this Local Law or in its application to the person, individual, corporation, firm, partnership, entity, or circumstance directly involved in the controversy in which such judgement or order shall be rendered.

SECTION 7. EFFECTIVE DATE.

This Local Law shall take effect immediately upon its filing with the Secretary of State, in accordance with Section 27 of the New York State Municipal Home Rule Law.

(Complete the certification in the paragraph that applies to the filing of this local law and strike out that which is not applicable.)

1. (Final adoption by local legislative body only.)	
I hereby certify that the local law annexed hereto, desof the (County)(XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX	ignated as local law No
2. (Passage by local legislative body with approval by the Elective Chief Executive Officer*.)	, no disapproval or repassage after disapproval
I hereby certify that the local law annexed hereto, des	ignated as local law No of 20
	was duly passed by the 20, and was (approved)(not approved)(repassed after
disapproval) by the(Elective Chief Executive Officer*)	and was deemed duly adopted on 20,
in accordance with the applicable provisions of law.	
3. (Final adoption by referendum.)	
I hereby certify that the local law annexed hereto, desi of the (County)(City)(Town)(Village) of	gnated as local law No of 20 of 20 was duly passed by the
(Name of Legislative Body)	20, and was (approved)(not approved)(repassed after
disapproval) by the(Elective Chief Executive Officer*)	on 20 Such local law was submitted
to the people by reason of a (mandatory)(permissive) r	eferendum, and received the affirmative vote of a majority of ecial)(annual) election held on 20, in
4. (Subject to permissive referendum and final adorreferendum.)	ption because no valid petition was filed requesting
	nated as local law No of 20 was duly passed by the
(Name of Legislative Body)	20, and was (approved)(not approved)(repassed after
disapproval) by the(Elective Chief Executive Officer*)	on 20 Such local law was subject to
permissive referendum and no valid petition requesting accordance with the applicable provisions of law.	such referendum was filed as of 20, in

^{*} Elective Chief Executive Officer means or includes the chief executive officer of a county elected on a county-wide basis or, if there be none, the chairperson of the county legislative body, the mayor of a city or village, or the supervisor of a town where such officer is vested with the power to approve or veto local laws or ordinances.

sed by petition.)
ated as local law No of 20 of 20
) :
ated as local law No
n followed, please provide an appropriate certification.)
law with the original on file in this office and that the same original local law, and was finally adopted in the manner in County legislative body, City, Townor Village Clerk signated by local legislative body
September 9, 2004
oration Counsel, Town Attorney, Village Attorney or
County Attorney
Niagara